Guest Comments

From our guest book and listing:  Others share their thoughts on their Finger Lakes vacation at our Keuka Lake cottage:

  • A little piece of paradise

    Having grown up in nearby Hammondsport, it was just natural to rent a cottage on Keuka Lake for our out of town guests. The Red Doors was nothing short of perfect for our needs. The cottage was up-to-date with all the modern amenities that you would ever need while holding onto the charm that goes along with lake living. From the spacious living quarters, the well equipped kitchen, the views of the Bluff from nearly every window in the house, the beachfront and dock, comfy lakeside chairs, fire pit, kayaks, and on and on, the Red Doors was like a little piece of paradise. One could tell that the owner had spent many a summer at the lake as she provided everything that would make your stay comfortable as well as memorable. The location was great – right in the middle of Wine Country. Area restaurants were either a short walk or a short drive away. There was plenty to do – or not do – but we always made it back to the lake for the most spectacular sunsets you can find anywhere! Our guests left feeling more relaxed than they had felt in a very long time. It was truly a wonderful vacation and many, many memories were made that will last a lifetime. We highly recommend the Red Doors!
    • Stayed: June 2016
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

    Owner response: Thank you so much much for your wonderful review. Nothing makes us happier than to have our guests enjoy what is dear to our hearts. We hope you can stay with us again.

  • Perfect little lakeside cottage

     The Red Doors cottage is a perfect, peaceful, private little cottage for a Finger Lakes vacation. It’s well-located (easy and quick driving distance to Hammondsport and Penn Yan) and it’s just lovely to have your own bit of beach-front. There’s off-road parking for two cars, a fully equipped kitchen with everything you could need (more stuff than I have at home!) and two bedrooms with queen beds. We were the first visitors of the 2016 season (in mid-May) and while it wasn’t sunny most of the time, we were able to have a fire on the beach (with smores) at night, and playing cards while sitting by the massive windows overlooking the lake is very relaxing. There are so many wineries, distilleries, breweries, and creameryies in the region. Myer Farm Distillery was our favorite. The hosts were VERY accommodating of our circumstances, very communicative, and very kind. You couldn’t ask for better hosts.
    • Stayed: May 2016
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

  • Great Family Vacation!

     We’ve stayed at the Red Doors for the last 3 summers. It is a perfect place to make memories. The beach is level and has a gradual slope into the water making it a perfect place for our young children to play and swim. The beach front is spacious enough for a family barbecue, and the downstairs fridge and storage area make cooking out a breeze. The cottage itself is clean and inviting. The owners always make sure we have everything we could possibly need. We’ve enjoyed sharing the lake with our children and plan to continue this family tradition. We always look forward to our Keuka Lake vacation!
    • Stayed: August 2015
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

  • Awesome place

     Our stay at The Red Doors was awesome. The cottage was perfect. It had the classic lake cottage feel just like my grandparents’ house when I was a kid. The location was excellent with wineries all around. We especially enjoyed the lake access and firepit right next to the water at night. We were there on our honeymoon and the owners were very thoughtful and even left a bottle of champagne for us. We highly recommend this cottage and would love to visit it again.
    • Stayed: October 2015
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

  • A lot of great memories old and new

    Having spent a lot of my youth here (since 1965) it was very comforting to return to the fold. Being there again with my own family and the owners making us feel like part of their family it felt as though we had never left. The cottage was warm, clean and cozy. The views and location as picturesque as I remembered. I have not been so relaxed in a long time. Kayaking with my son for the first time and fishing with my little niece are just a couple of the highlights. I look forward to coming back for years to come. WONDERFUL
    • Stayed: August 2015
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

    Owner response: Thanks so very much for your kind review Tony. It was so very good to have your family back at the cottage. We are excited to have the Keuka Lake tradition continue. See you next year!

  • What a marvelous place!

    So wonderful to be back here again! Keuka Lake was a magical place for our kids growing up, and that hasn’t changed a bit. Can’t say enough good things about this cottage and the owners. Very clean, comfortable and picturesque. The whole family was overjoyed with our stay here. So looking forward to coming back again next year.
    • Stayed: August 2015
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your kind review. Glad the lake and cottage are still magical. So happy to see you and your family back.So nice to see so many generations enjoying their stay.

  • Love at first sight

    Besides the cottage itself – everything was really comfortable, the beds were comfortable, it was very, very clean, and the view was great – you can’t say enough good things about the owners. We felt very welcomed, they’re great. If you can’t get along with these owners, you can’t get along! We came in the fall so the colors were beautiful, and of course the area is gorgeous. We had very crisp, cool nights and mornings, but felt very snug in the cottage. We had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. This is a very authentic, old fashioned cottage that has been improved with all the right updates, but without sacrificing the original feel. Highly recommend!
    • Stayed: October 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

  • Great family weekend away

    I grew up on Keuka Lake and over the last few years have made a point to spend an extended weekend with my family on this Lake. Of the 5 Major Finger Lakes, this is certainly the most family/child safe, and cleanest of them all. The process was easy to book and the owners were extremely hospitable. We had the fortune to meet them and they were very kind throughout our stay. With regard to the cottage itself, all I will say is the kids still have not stopped talking about this particular stay on the lake. There was more than enough space for a family of five, it was well cared for, and offered lots of activities for everyone. The cottage comes equipped with wi-fi, Kayaks, a canoe, and rowboat. On the beach was a fire pit, picnic tables, deck chairs, dock, and gas grill as well as complete use of water shoes and life jackets. My daughters were proud of themselves for kayaking for the first time, and my older son, a good family friend and myself made the trek across the lake and back in the kayaks. For anyone not interested in water sports, within a few miles are several locally owned wineries available for tours and tastings. I believe we have finally found the place we will be using for all future trips to Keuka Lake. I can’t recommend this place enough!
    • Stayed: May 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We were so happy to see that you enjoyed the cottage and Keuka Lake. They both mean so much to us. It gives us great pleasure to see families enjoying themselves and continuing the traditions my grandparents started for us. We hope to see you back again soon.

  • Wonderful fall family stay – highly recommend

     We’d been to this cottage before, but in a different season… Owner keeps the cottage in top shape, it was immaculate and welcoming when we arrived. We love summer visits to Keuka Lake, but think now spring and fall will be the seasons for us! The view of the lake and the fall colors on the Bluff just never got old. We did manage to tear ourselves away to go to some wineries, lunch at Bully Hill, Watkins Glen, and visits to old friends. Appreciated the owner leaving the kayaks out for us even late in the season. In fact the owner was great to work with at every turn. We love that lots of the original cottage is intact – it’s a simple, authentic cottage and we love the many original windows, the ceilings, the wood plank floors – but also loved the clean lines of the updated kitchen, bath, having tv & wi-fi. It was a retreat when all we wanted to do was sit on the beach and listen to the water, and cozy when we wanted the heat on or the fireplace and tv at night. Almost hate to share what a nice visit we had, don’t want too many people discovering this gem! We’ll definitely be back.
    • Stayed: October 2013
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

  • Picturesque Spot on Keuka

    We loved this place – it’s a nice mix of updated and functional with old school furnishings and ambiance. The cotttage was extremely clean and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The bed was comfortable as was the overall layout of the cottage. It was such a joy to wake and go to bed up to the sounds of the lake lapping against the shore line. We also had good luck fishing of the dock, which was so nice. The cottage is well situated and close to Keuka and Seneca lake wineries and restaurants. It’s close to the Curtiss Museum and a short drive to both Corning and Ithaca. The proprietor, Lisa, was responsive to questions leading up to our stay and returned our security deposit promptly after our stay. The best thing we can say it that “we’ll be back.”
    • Stayed: September 2013
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

    Owner response: Thanks so much for your review David. We are so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed a cottage that is near and dear to our hearts. We are thrilled that you will be back.

******************

Our week at the cottage was wonderful! I traveled with four children, ages 12-14, and they all had a great time. We swam, tubed, kayaked, hiked, walked to the ice cream shop, fished, shopped, had nightly campfires, played games inside and out-I know I’m forgetting something! The cottage was clean, well-stocked and included water toys (kayaks, rowboat, rafts, etc.) that we thoroughly enjoyed. The owners were more than accommodating with anything we needed. Do yourself a favor and book a week at The Red Doors!

Wildjem

******************

We’d been to this cottage before, but in a different season… Owner keeps the cottage in top shape, it was immaculate and welcoming when we arrived. We love summer visits to Keuka Lake, but think now spring and fall will be the seasons for us! The view of the lake and the fall colors on the Bluff just never got old. We did manage to tear ourselves away to go to some wineries, lunch at Bully Hill, Watkins Glen, and visits to old friends. Appreciated the owner leaving the kayaks out for us even late in the season. In fact the owner was great to work with at every turn. We love that lots of the original cottage is intact – it’s a simple, authentic cottage and we love the many original windows, the ceilings, the wood plank floors – but also loved the clean lines of the updated kitchen, bath, having tv & wi-fi. It was a retreat when all we wanted to do was sit on the beach and listen to the water, and cozy when we wanted the heat on or the fireplace and tv at night. Almost hate to share what a nice visit we had, don’t want too many people discovering this gem! We’ll definitely be back.

H & V – St. Louis

******************

We loved this place – it’s a nice mix of updated and functional with old school furnishings and ambiance. The cotttage was extremely clean and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The bed was comfortable as was the overall layout of the cottage. It was such a joy to wake and go to bed up to the sounds of the lake lapping against the shore line. We also had good luck fishing of the dock, which was so nice. The cottage is well situated and close to Keuka and Seneca lake wineries and restaurants. It’s close to the Curtiss Museum and a short drive to both Corning and Ithaca. The proprietor, Lisa, was responsive to questions leading up to our stay and returned our security deposit promptly after our stay. The best thing we can say it that “we’ll be back.”

David P.

******************

7/18/13 Lisa you have such a beautiful spot…95 degrees, swimming, a nap in the hammock, waking up in that glorious front bedroom. Now that is R and R! Karen P

******************

Oh my gosh!  The pictures do not do your cottage justice!  Walking in and seeing that view in front of you — all I can say is wow.  We love Keuka Lake and we love your cottage! From start to finish you have been so wonderful, and we love all the cottage-y touches.  Love, love love the hammock!  Thanks so much for sharing your Keuka Lake gem with our family.  Wine tastes better at your cottage!

Hal and Virginia

******************

Early June — We had an incredibly peaceful, calm escape from the working world in this beautiful, quiet cottage. My wife and I, along with our three sons enjoyed the beach front with a rather cool swim, and the incredible view up the lake from the kitchen table.  It is easy to get to with quiet, comfortable accommodations. We strongly recommend it to anyone wishing to visit the area for a quiet relaxed getaway on the waterfront. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely stay again when we have a chance.

Pahl and Joyce

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect. KeukaLakeCottage.com All rights reserved.